Best New Music Releases – Youth Lagoon, The Men, Cloud Cult, Javelin, Rhye, How to Destroy Angels, Chelsea Light Moving

Youth-Lagoon-Wondrous-BughouseThis week’s batch of new releases from popular, obscure and signed indie and alternative rock, electro and folk bands offers indie music lovers a large assortment of albums to pick from, as well as singles to stream and download. Keep an eye out for a whole series of recently released DIY albums coming up soon and containing a stunning collection of top-notch singles from artists many folks have never heard before. We’re also working diligently on putting together and publishing the Top 10 Songs weekly playlists for February.

The number of notable releases this past week probably makes this the blockbuster week for new releases so far this year. In fact, there were so many releases to go through, that it delayed the posting of this edition of BNMR. What we can say for sure is this playlist is a feast for the ears – don’t be surprised if you find yourself listening to it again and again. That said, let’s get right to it, starting off with the swirling, melancholic synths and brilliant compositions of Trevor Powers, aka, Youth Lagoon. His sophomore LP, Wondrous Bughouse, is IRC’s Album of the Week, and for good reason. There is a full Spotify stream of the album embedded in the review. Find out why one regular patron of the cafe called it the Sgt. Pepper of 2013.

The masterpiece track, “Dropla,” is the lead single from the album. Also, dip into the versatile genre-fication (garage rock, psychedelic rock, power pop) of The Men; the wonderfully layered prog rock and orchestral pop of Cloud Cult; the richly textured, heavily sampled electro pop debut from Grimes‘ accomplice Doldrums, as well as the totally thrilling, joyous sounds of Superhuman Happiness on the track, “See Me On My Way.” Cy Dune, aka Akron/Family band member Seth Olinsky rocks hard on the single, “Where The Wild Things,” from this solo debut EP, No Recognize, out on vinyl this week via Family Tree Records,

“Dropla”Youth Lagoon from Wondrous Bughouse on Fat Possum

“Electric”The Men from New Moon on Sacred Bones


“Good Friend”Cloud Cult from Love on Earthology Records

“Anomaly”Doldrums from Lesser Evil on Arbutus Records

“See Me On My Way”Superhuman Happiness from Hands on The Royal Potato Family

“Where the Wild Things”Cy Dune from No Recognize on Family Tree Records // Cassette Burger Records


New Music from Cy Dune, Hollis Brown, Helado Negro, Cave Singers and Others

This next cluster of singles from new releases dropped in the past week include chilled out tracks from Hollis Brown‘s dreamy, guitar and piano infused track, “Nightfall,” from the new release, Ride on the Train; Helado Negro‘s smooth grooves on “Dance Ghost” from the LP, Invisible Life; John Murry’s alt. country rock single, “The Ballad of the Pajama Kid,” from the album The Graceless Age. Also this past week was the first all-English LP of dreamy acoustic folk from Iceland’s Olof Arnalds, the recent Fleet Foxes ex-pats collaboration with The Cave Singers; plus, the new single, “Linens” from Water Liars‘ latest LP, Wyoming.

“Nightfall”Hollis Brown from Ride on the Train on Alive Records

“Dance Ghost”Helado Negro from Invisible Life on Asthmatic Kitty


“The Ballad of The Pajama Kid”John Murry from The Graceless Age on Evangeline Recording Co.

“Linens”Water Liars from Wyoming on Big Legal Mess

“Treat Her Kindly”Ólöf Arnalds from Sudden Elevation on One Little Indian Records


Electro Singles from Bill Baird, Javelin, HighasaKite, Shlohmo

Next, stream a collection of new electro and synth singles from this week’s releases from a variety of artists – such as a double LP of eccentric, atmospheric electro-pop mixed with psychedelic rock from the widely praised musical mastermind Bill Baird, as demonstrated by his new single, “Spring Break of the Soul;” a new album of quirky synth pop from Javelin; the deep base, autoharp and tinkering keys of Norwegian artist Highasakite‘s track, “Son of a Bitch;” the sweet beats of the rising electro warriors Shlohmo on the mix “Don’t Say No,” featuring How To Dress Well, and other electro singles from new albums by

“Spring Break of the Soul”Bill Baird from Spring Break of The Soul on Pau Wau Records

“Nnormal”Javelin from Hi Beams on Luaka Bop


“Son of a Bitch”Highasakite from In and Out of Weeks EP on Propeller Recordings

“Don’t Say No” – Shlohmo with How To Dress Well from Laid Out EP on Friends of Friends x Wedidit


Debuts from Rhye, How To Destroy Angels, Chelsea Moving Light

There were also a number of debuts this week , including Los Angeles new comers Rhye, with the deliciously smooth, Sade-like R&B grove of the single, “Open,” from the album Woman; the debut release and lead single from Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor and his wife’s post-industrial project, How To Destroy Angles, as well as the self-titled debut from the electro radar band Stubborn Heart.

“Open” Rhye from Woman on Innovative Leisure

How Long?”How To Destroy Angels from Welcome Oblivion on Columbia Records

“Need Someone”Stubborn Heart from Stubborn Heart on One Little Indian Records


And while we’re talking 2013 debuts, at the top of the list is the highly anticipated self-titled debut album from Chelsea Light Moving, the new band and brainchild of Sonic Youth frontman, and alternative rock legend, Thurston Moore, featuring a collection of punk inspired, fuzzy guitar rock tracks, like the single, “Burroughs.”

“Burroughs”Chelsea Light Moving from Chelsea Light Moving

Listen to second track in previous CLM post


Fresh Tracks from Robyn Hitchcock, Son Volt

Since we’re on the subject of iconic rockers, post-punk pioneer Robyn Hitchcock dropped a new solo album, Love From London, earlier this week, that features an assortment of strange psychedelic folk-pop songs like the single, “Be Still”. Sticking with the theme of cult figures, Uncle Tupelo co-founder Jay Farrar and his ‘other’ band, Son Volt, just released their seventh album, chock full of roots-inspired honky tonk tracks led by the single, “Hearts and Minds.” Don’t miss the high octane pop of Seattle band Hey Marseilles.

“Be Still”Robyn Hitchcock from Love From London on Yep Roc Records

“Hearts and Minds”Son Volt from Honky Tonk on Rounder Records

“Bright Stars Burning”Hey Marseilles from Lines We Trace on Onto Entertainment/Thirty Tigers

Related Posts

  1. Robyn Hitchcock (Echo and the Bunnymen) ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Comments are closed.

Do not use Comments to submit music or links - go to IRC Music Submission form. You may use the Comments section to indicate interest in our professional publicity/artist development; social media/branding; press release/EPK; music representation services.