Best New Music Releases, Week of Aug. 28th – Wild Nothing, Poor Moon, Matthew Dear, Dan Deacon, Bilinda Butchers, Divine Fits


As summer fades, the number of new album releases steadily increases. Last week was one of the best weeks of the summer for new album releases, featuring new singles from the latest albums by bands like Yeasayer, Bloc Party, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, and others. This week, the musical offerings are even better, with singles from new albums by Wild Nothing, Poor Moon, Matthew Dear, Dan Deacon, TEEN, The Bilinda Butchers, Divine Fits and others.

One of our favorite artists of the past few years, Wild Nothing, has released a new album, Nocturne, containing the lead single, “Paradise,” a summery pop track of distorted synths and melodic hooks. Following Wild Nothing is the warm, uptempo love song, “Holiday,” oozing with tropical romanticism. It’s the third single from the self-titled debut by Poor Moon. The party-like cruise boat allure of “Holiday” is a perfect  follow-up to the mood-setting “Paradise.”

Next, Matthew Dear explores new territory again on his new LP, Beams, that includes the busy semi-electronic/new wave track, “Headcage,” which has elements of 1980’s Brian Eno. There is also plenty of rock and roll on Beams; in fact, Dear serves up more rock on his latest album than on previous releases. This week’s new releases mix really amps up next with “Lots” (strategically placed) – a blazing, relentless synth rager from Dan Deacon. Get ready to get up and dance on this one – it’s easily one of the best tracks of the summer. This must be synth week because one single after another from new albums this week are synth-driven, including fresh tracks from The Blinda Butchers, Divine Fits, TEEN, and others.

“Paradise”Wild Nothing from Nocturne on Captured Tracks

“Holiday”Poor Moon from Poor Moon on Sub Pop

“Headcage”Matthew Dear from Beams on Ghostly International

“Lots”Dan Deacon from America on Domino Records

Double-shot: “True Thrush”Dan Deacon from America on Domino Records

“Would That Not Be Nice”Divine Fits from A Thing Called Divine Fits on Merge Records

“Hai Bby”The Bilinda Butchers from Goodbye on discAu

“Electric”TEEN from In Limbo on Carpark Records

“Apostate (edit)”Swans from The Seer on Young God

“Steel and Blood” – Minus the Bear from Infinity Overhead on Dangerbird Records

“Love Is The Drug” – Roxy Music from Roxy Music: The Complete Studio Recordings 1972 – 1982 (10-CD box set) on Virgin/EMI

“Motions”King of Spain from All I Did Was Tell Them The Truth And They Thought It Was Hell on New Granada Records

“Leave Your Body Behind You”Richard Hawley from Standing At The Sky’s Edge on Mute

“Pieces of You”Mad Planet from Ghost Notes on Planetary Fro Records

“Downwind”Sean Rowe from Salesman and The Shark on Anti- Records


  • tags

Related Posts