Ears To The Music, Vol. IV – The Spinto Band, The Dodos, Public Radio, Elvis Perkins, A Sunny Day in Glasgow & More!

Kicking off this playlist of great new songs is one of the best under-rated indie bands of the past few years, The Spinto Band, from Wilmington, Delaware. Their second album, Moonwink, was one of the top LPs of 2008, featuring catchy, melodic music and potent lyrics. The band’s new EP, Slim & Slender, will be released next month, just in time for the launch of their Park The Van tour with label-mates Pepi Ginsberg and Generationals.

The Dodos return with one of the most addictive indie songs of this half of 2009 – “Fables” (see the new video), from their impressive album Time to Die. The band is currently on an extensive tour in the States until the end of next month, and then, after a two-week break, The Dodos set out on a two month European tour.

Public Radio is an indie rock-pop band from Charlotte, NC who cite among their influences The Flaming Lips, Modest Mouse and Wilco. Their new track, “Forget Love,” off their latest LP Sweet Child, is one of the most memorable songs of 2009. The band aims to make songs “that are both energetic and inspiring for social and personal change.” Band member Mark Mathis is also offering a free download of his solo EP.

This playlist also includes sweet singles from new and upcoming releases by the awesome Elvis Perkins in Dearland; Philadelphia’s psyche pop A Sunny Day in Glasgow; Athens, Georgia’s electro-pop band Circulatory System; Cincinnati’s hot indie rockers Why?; New York’s garage pop band Darlings; Illinois’ Lake Country indie pop band Headlights, and Philadelphia’s folk pop artist Kurt Vile.

“Jackhammer” – The Spinto Band from Slim & Slender EP (2009)

“Fables” The Dodos from Time To Die (2009)

“Forgot Love”Public Radio from Sweet Child (2009)

“Slow Doomsday”Elvis Perkins in Dearland from The Doomsday EP (2009)

“Passionate Introverts”A Sunny Day In Glasgow from Ashes Grammar (2009)

“Round Again”Circulatory System from from Signal Morning (2009)

“Into The Shadows of Embrace”Why? from Eskimo Snow (2009)

“If This Is Love”Darlings from Yeah I Know (2009)

“Get Going”Headlights from Wildlife (2009)

“Overnite Religion”Kurt Vile from Childish Prodigy (2009)

In case you missed new singles from other long-waited 2009 releases, check out the entire Ears To The Music playlists series below:

Ears To The Music, Vol. III: New Indie Songs from Air Waves, Kings of Convenience, Yo La Tengo, The Clientele, Twilight Sad & More

Ears To The Music, Vol. II: New Songs from The Flaming Lips, White Lies, Good Night States, Sea Wolf, A.A. Bondy & More

Ears To The Music, Vol I – New Songs from Choir Of Young Believers, The Very Most, Firs, The Love Language & More

Help spread the word about IRC! Use the ShareThis button to send, share and favorite this playlist! 🙂

  • tags

Related Posts