Ears To The Music, Vol. III: Air Waves, Kings of Convenience, Yo La Tengo, The Clientele, Twilight Sad & More

Underground electronic pop hipster and mixer Dan Deacon recently called Nicole Schneit‘s Brooklyn indie band Air Waves his favorite new band.

“The music she writes is like a favorite blanket wrapped around you. Drummer Dave Ferraro complements her songs well,” Deacon told Pitchfork, “‘Shine On’ is my current favorite song by them.”

Weaving unforgettable melodic songs with styles that range from pop to folk and rock to country, Air Waves possess a sound that cannot be pinned down – which is a good thing. The result is a unique signature that is identifiable by heady lyrics, catchy choruses and the fragile vocals of Schneit’s mesmerizing voice. The song “Shine On” reminds me of Daniel Johnston more than any other single I’ve heard in a long time. The band’s self-titled EP is out now on Catbird Records.

Kings of Convenience experienced a huge swell of love from the press, blogs and fans worldwide following the 2001 release of their indie folk-pop classic debut, Quiet Is The New Loud, and the follow-up, and equally compelling, album, Riot On An Empty Street, released in 2004. But since that time Eirik Glambek Bøe and Erlend Øye went on hiatus, leaving many of their fans wondering when, or if, they were going to make another record.

The wait is over; since the duo reunited in Mexico in 2007 to play a show, they have been working on their third studio LP, Declaration of Dependence, due to drop on October 20th. Øye called the upcoming release, “the most rhythmical pop record ever that features no percussion or drums.” To sum up Declaration in three words or less – it is delicious.

Other great songs from new and upcoming releases in this playlist include fresh tracks from popular indie bands Yo La Tengo, The Clientele, Twilight Sad, Chet, Music Go Music, The Swell Season, Casiokids and Grand Hallway. Enjoy and please support your favorite musicians and bands.

“Shine On”Air Waves from Air Waves EP (2009)
Bonus: “Knock Out”Air Waves

“Mrs. Cold”Kings of Convenience from Declaration of Dependence (2009)

“Periodically Double or Triple”Yo La Tengo from Popular Songs (2009)

“Wonder Who We Are”The Clientele from Bonfires on the Heath (2009)

“Reflection of the Television”Twilight Sad from Forget The Night Ahead (2009)

“The Night, The Night”Chet from Chester Silver, Please Come Home (2009)

“Warm in the Shadows”Music Go Music from Expressions (2009)

“In These Arms”The Swell Season from Strict Joy (2009)

“Gront Lys I Alle Ledd”Casiokids from Gront Lys I Alle Ledd/Togens Hule (2009)

“Blessed Be, Honey Bee”Grand Hallway from Promenade (2009)


Most Popular Recent Posts/Playlists:

– New Indie Releases This Week: Why?, The Pains, The XX, Jack of Heart, Fool’s Gold, The Mary Onettes & More

Pavement Reunion News Spurs Sell Out of Three 2010 NYC Shows in Hours; Fourth Show Added

Best Rarely Heard Songs of 2009, Vol. I – Sun Airway, The Ambience Affair, Brian Olive, The Bats, Land of Talk & More

Vampire Weekend Reveal New Song and Album Cover from Upcoming Sophomore Album ‘Contra’


Previous Ears to the Music Playlists:

Ears To The Music, Vol. II: New Songs from The Flaming Lips, White Lies, Good Night States, Sea Wolf, A.A. Bondy & More

Ears To The Music, Vol I – New Songs from Choir Of Young Believers, The Very Most, Firs, The Love Language & More

  • tags

Related Posts