Indie Rock Summer Mix IV: Cymbals Eat Guitars, Times New Viking, Sonic Youth, Fruit Bats and More

Staten Island band Cymbals Eat Guitars
Summer is still alive and kicking, and that’s a good enough excuse to share more great new songs from 2009 that have been favorites this summer.

Kicking off this mix is a great new track from Cymbals Eat Guitars called “Wind Phoenix.” The song is full of catchy pop harmonies and melodies that transform into a discordant crescendo full of guitar feedback and punk style vocals only to mellow out again to the sing-along charm the song opens with. The band’s impressive, self-released debut, Why There Are Mountains, is one of the best independent debuts of 2009.

Other songs in this summer playlist include hot new singles from Times New Viking, Sonic Youth, Fruit Bats, Plus 49, Lightning Dust, A Lull, Kurt Vile, Harlem Shakes, The Radio Dept. and a new remix from Animal Collective.

“Wind Phoenix (Proper Name)”Cymbals Eat Guitars from Why There Are Mountains (2009)

“No Time No Hope”Times New Viking from Born Again Revisited (2009)

“Sacred Trickster”Sonic Youth from The Eternal (2009)

“My Unusual Friend”Fruit Bats from The Ruminant Band (2009)

Naive BrotherPlus 49 from Integrity and Injury (2009)

“Never Seen” Lightning Dust from Invincible Light (2009)

“Skinny Fingers”A Lull from Ice Cream Bones (2009)

“Overnite Religion”Kurt Vile from Childish Prodigy (2009)

“David”The Radio Dept. from TBA (2009)

“Strictly Game”Harlem Shakes from Technicolor Health (2009)

“Daily Routine” (Phaseone Remix) – Animal Collective, unreleased (2009)

Check out more 2009 Summer Mixes

  • tags

Related Posts