Best New Releases, Week of June 12th, Vol. II – Hot Chip, TEED, Sea of Bees, Dent May, Ana Peru, Magic Trick, Pop Etc, Volcano!

Earlier this week we posted Volume One of the Best New Releases for the Week of June 12th, featuring songs from Jaill, The Tallest Man on Earth, Guided By Voices, and many others.

This, Volume Two, features singles from new LP and EP drops by Hot Chip, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs, Sea of Bees, Phoebe Jean, POP ETC, Dent May, Bobby Womack, The Inner Banks, Kandodo, Magic Trick, Mike Scheidt, Richard Hawley, Volcano!, Emily Jane White, and a couple of double-shots from artists highlighted in Vol. One – Jaill and These United States. At the end of this playlist are other songs we threw in because some people may dig one or more of them so what the hell. Enjoy the tunes.

“Night and Day”Hot Chip from In Our Heads on Domino
(or listen to “Night and Day” via Soundcloud)

Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs
“Tapes & Money”Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs from Trouble on Casablanca Records

“Broke” – Sea of Bees from Orangefarben on Team Love

“Day Is Gone”Phoebe Jean from Heartbreakers on Lentonia

“Until Next Time (Live It Up)”POP ETC from POP ETC on Rough Trade


“Fun”Dent May from Do Things on Paw Tracks

“Ana Peru”The Inner Banks from Wild on Dag! Records


“Please Forgive My Heart” – Bobby Womack from The Bravest Man In The Universe on XL Recordings

“In Your Light” – Mike Scheidt from Stay Awake

“Laud the Hyena”Kandodo from Kandodo on Thrill Jockey


“Torture”Magic Trick from Ruler of the Night on Hardly Art

“Leave Your Body Behind You”Richard Hawley from Standing at the Sky’s Edge on Mute

“Long Gone”Volcano! from Piñata on The Leaf Label

“Requiem Waltz”Emily Jane White from Ode To Sentience on Antenna Farm

“Faded”The Hundred In The Hands from Red Night on Warp Records

Double-Shots from Jaill and These United States

If you arrived on this page from somewhere, don’t miss Volume One for our favorite singles from new album drops out this week, which is the ‘Week of June 12’ since most U.S. releases are officially issued each Tuesday.  Here are a couple of double shots – or second singles from bands that were featured in Vol. I, such as Jaill and These United States.

“Waste A Lot of Things”Jaill from Traps on Sub Pop

“Dead and Gone”These United States from These United States on United Interests

Other Tracks Worth A Listen

Worth A Listen are tracks that don’t necessarily make it into the main Best New Releases weekly playlist series. Not sure how many of you dig different genres, but the track “Tennessee Honey” is an indie bluegrass type of song, if you will. Following that is a completely different electronica -something song from Variety Lights – not really sure how to describe it.

“Tennessee Honey”The Driftwood Singers from The Driftwood Singers on Trailer Fire Records

“Feels” – Giraffage from A Painting of a Painting on Fire

“Silent Too Long” – Variety Lights from Central Flow on Fire Records

Related Posts

Do not use Comments to submit music or links - go to IRC Music Submission form. You may use the Comments section to indicate interest in our professional publicity/artist development; social media/branding; press release/EPK; music representation services.